Leave a comment

Do you lose if you snooze on vaca? I think not.

Gal Pal Jenn and Me

Finally, time to kick of the weekend – say “CHEESE.”

Last weekend I traveled to New Hampshire to visit my gal pal, Jenn. It was cold and damp all weekend, perfect weather for sitting bundled up in front of the fire, which I did, along with a lot of napping. Up until a few years ago I never would have napped while on vacation. I always said, “I’ll rest when I die,” often getting by on 4-6 hours of sleep a night, or not sleeping for up to 3 days at a time. However, these days I’ve had to change the way I do things, so I can enjoy more of my life. That night at dinner my pals teased me a bit about my nap and I started to feel guilty. Then I thought, “Isn’t my vacation time, me time too? Aren’t I supposed to indulge my whims, and if napping makes me happy, even while on vacation, then why not.”

During dinner, I explained how napping made me feel:

1.    More alert and able to engage mentally (sometimes fibro fog sets in and I’m suddenly dazed and confused).

2.    Refreshed and able to stay up a bit later than usual (complete exhaustion sets in about 7 p.m. most nights and that doesn’t work well when I’m out with the girls); and

3.    Relaxed and rejuvenated (I mean, I get to squeeze in a nap without someone needing something. For me, it’s a luxury to be enjoyed, especially while on vacation).

So the next day we indulged in a nap and we agreed that it was invigorating. So, a new gal pal getaway tradition was born, naps in the afternoon. And since we were all napping, I didn’t miss anything, yeah me!

Do you nap on vacation? Why?

As always, please feel free to share your thoughts and experiences.  I hope that by sharing my experiences you find strength, hope, and solutions when you make your commitment to live beyond your illness.

Gal Pal Carmen

Your Florida Gal Pal Bounce Back Getaway Expert

“You dream it, I plan it, you deserve it.”

Telephone: (407) 900-9258          E-mail: Carmen@CmpTravelCounselor.com

Facebook: GalPalBounceBackGetaways

Your thoughts

