Leave a comment

Road Trippin’: The DeLand Mural Walk

Imagine my surprise when I find out after 8 years of living in Orlando, there is a mural painting walk in 11 of Florida’s cities, called the “Florida Mural Trail.”  The Florida Mural Trail goes through Palatka, DeLand, Lake Placid, Milton, Gainesville, Kissimmee, Saint Cloud, Fort Pierce, Lake Wales, Punta Gorda, and Pine Island.  I am still gathering information on the Florida Mural Trail, but I hope to visit these cities in the upcoming months.  Many of which I have never visited before, including DeLand which is where I am heading this quiet Sunday morning.

It seems like the perfect day with our typical blue skies, warmer temperatures, and soft breezes.  Today I am feeling well, and with the drive only about 50 minutes from Orlando, I won’t  need much to get through the day.  My car has seat heaters which help me deal with “cold” skin issues.  We will be walking , DeLand also has a “sculpture” walk, and we will be out for at least 4 hours, so I need to take precautions.  I am wearing comfortable shoes, and taking a pair of slippers to change into if my feet start burning, my DaVinci tool to treat my trigger points if they start screaming, ear plugs to protect me from any noise that starts to give me anxiety, eye mask to cover my eyes if they get light-sensitive, water for hydration – a must for any car ride, and a wrap for my shoulders or legs if they get a case of the “chills.” I always carry a pashmina because it’s pretty large, thin, and never wrinkles.  These items will help me get through the day if my symptoms start to flare.

As we arrive I immediately notice how empty the streets are, which I find a little strange for 11 a.m. on Sunday morning, but I forge ahead, excited to see the art work.  We find the DeLand Visitor’s Center where a friendly local woman welcomed and provided us with a guide-book for the “DeLand Historic Mural Walk” and the “DeLand Sculpture Walk.”   The guidebooks provide information on 11 of the 14 story telling murals and the 12 sculptures.  What I found wonderful was that all the art work on display in this town filled with historic treasures, featured Floridian artists.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Our walking tour, we joined the mural and sculpture tours, took just over an hour and a half.  We cut the tour in half by taking a lunch break at the local diner.  This is the only place we ever saw more than 5 people at a time.  The number 9 mural, across from an outside dinning area of an eatery called the “MainStreet Grill,” at 100 East New York, so this is where we decided to dine for lunch. The menu featured a choice of soup, salad, and sandwiches, along with pasta for about $15.00 per person including tax and tip.

On my way out-of-town, as I enjoyed one of my fresh doughnuts from “Mr. Bills Doughnuts,” at 138 N. Woodland, I could not help but think what a wonderful way to bounce back.  I spent the day enjoying some art therapy viewing  mural art depicting the history of this town, sculptures created by Floridian artists, and I toured another one of Florida’s great cities.

How do you prepare for a road trip?

Comfort is a priority to me.  I find that just a little forethought, I can enjoy being out and about for the day with little or no flare up.

As always, please feel free to share your thoughts and experiences.  I hope that by sharing my experiences you find strength, hope, and solutions when you make your commitment to live beyond your illness.

Gal Pal Carmen

Your Florida Gal Pal Bounce Back Getaways Expert

“You dream it, I plan it, you deserve it.”

Telephone: (407) 900-9258          E-mail: Carmen@CmpTravelCounselor.com

Facebook: GalPalBounceBackGetaways

Your thoughts

